Suggestons for beginner

Discussion in 'General Card Modeling' started by CharlieB, Jul 28, 2005.

1. CharlieB

CharlieB Member

I'm new to paper modelling. I down loaded some of the plane kits from Fiddlersgreen.net and am having problems with them.

Could someone recommend something for a beginner and a good source for kits. Is it better to buy a kit or download and print your own?

Thanks for your help...Charlie
  2. GEEDUBBYA

GEEDUBBYA Active Member

Howdy Charlie,

welcome to the forum. What types of troubles are ya having? a few things most model designers will tell you are things like "score fold lines before cutting the part out" or "roll" the part (which is to give the paper a rounded shape). Some designers intend for you to cut along the outside edge of the part lines, while others state that the line is to be cut itself (if you follow my meaning). Anyway if you could be abit more specific about your troubles, we'll help ya as best we can.
    Now, as for a good source for kits............... there are many websites that list tons of free models, all of which vary in dufficulty. Below is a few of the sites which have links to the free models or to other sites containing free models.

http://www.freepapertoys.com/pt-planemodel.html - navigate to other model types in the left column.

http://www.peterjvisser.demon.nl/indexe.html - navigate to other model types and links at top of page.

http://www.3dpapermodel.com.tw/ - you dont have to download the chinese font when the pop up box appears on this site, to navigate thru the various models, click topic on left you desire. These are abit harder models than found on other sites.
    I hope this has been of some help to you, but like I said if you could be abit more specific as to what type of troubles you are having, we will be glad to help.

Have a good day,

Greg aka GW
  3. jleslie48

jleslie48 Member