suggestions for system for both N and G?

EdStauff

I model in both N and G gauges, and now that my two boys are getting old enough to "play trains" with me, having independent control of multiple locos would greatly increase our "play value".

I'd like to invest in a DCC system that will serve both gauges -- but not simultaneously; we use G in the summer and N in the winter. ( I realize that the decoders will have to be different, and will be permanently installed in the locos.) I have no prior experience with DCC, but I've been reading FAQ's and primers and am familiar with the concepts. There seems to be an awful lot of choices out there, so I'm looking for recommendations for starter systems and/or components that I can use with either scale.

Here are my requirements:

1. Suitable for use with N or G gauges.
2. Up to 3 or 4 locos in G gauge; up to 5 or 6 locos in N gauge.
3. Up to 4 throttles.
4. Option for wireless throttles in the future.
5. Don't need most advanced features such as programming, signalling, etc.
6. Support for reversing loops.
7. Minimize cost! I absolutely can't afford to pay for features I don't need.

I already have a nice P.H. 10-amp power pack for my G trains.

Thanks for the help!

-- Ed

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Hi Ed,

Sorry the reply is a little late (and probably not that helpful :rolleyes: ), but Welcome to The Gauge!!

I am not sure that there is a pack that is able to do what you want. I recall that MRC made a "convertable" power pack - you threw a switch to boost power from Nscale to large scale ranges. I don't know if they're available any more, and if there is a walk around function available.

You might try Google for "MRC" or "Model Rectifier Corporation".

EDIT - Ooops - you're looking for DCC. In that case it might be worthwhile to make a call/email to Tony's Train Exchange, or Litchfield Station, and explain what you want to do.

Andrew

Gary Pfeil