Styrene Question

cellis242001

Nov 27, 2006
Hello everyone. Well, I've been working a little on my first scratchbuild (grain elevator in N scale). I would like to use corrugated metal for the roof, but this leads me into a world i have not delved into yet...that's right styrene. Can anyone tell me what size styrene corrugated metal will look proportionate and will work for n scale roofs, and buildings in general? I know evergreen has them all listed neatly but I'm new at this and i can't afford to order a bunch of different sizes until I get it right. Any help would be appreciated.

doctorwayne

Sep 6, 2005
Canada, eh?
In N scale, you might be better to go for what "looks right" rather than what's "to scale". It's also useful to keep in mind that not all corrugated metal has the same-size corrugations. Often, commercial and industrial uses require larger and/or heavier sheets, and the appearance can vary greatly. If you use an N scale version of what most people think of as corrugated siding, the corrugations will be so small as to almost disappear. The colours that you choose when painting and weathering can also emphasize or hide the corrugations, too.

Wayne

Russ Bellinis

Feb 13, 2003
Lakewood, Ca.
Visit site
I think I would try to find actual scale corrugated metal. I model in ho and Suydam and I think Campbell make corrugated foil, I don't know if anyone makes it for n scale. The problem with styrene corrugated metal is that the styrene will be way too thick to look realistic, and inevitably, you will have edges of the "metal" visible somewhere on the model. Of course, if you get Evergreen styrene in corrugated metal for n scale, you could lay aluminum foil over it, and work it into the grooves with a stylus to make your own foil corrugated siding.

cellis242001

Nov 27, 2006