speed

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by jim currie, Jul 19, 2006.

  1. jim currie

    jim currie Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    is anyone else haveing trouble with the gauge running slower than the proverbial molasses in january? or is it just my sucky dial up connection.:cry:
  2. straight-track

    straight-track Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jim, I think it might be your dial-up. My DSL is just "rumbling right along ". Joe :rolleyes:
  3. trainnut65

    trainnut65 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont have anytrouble with it either. The gauge runs faster than a lot of the other website i go to.
  4. ezdays

    ezdays Out AZ way

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jim,

    We've run into this before where I've had problems with access, and the only other ones to have the same problems were here in the southwest. I've got ultra-high speed cable too, and so does TrainNut, but he had problems the same time I did, so the conclusion is that somewhere along the route between us and the Gauge, we are getting hung up. The next time it happens I'll run a trace, but I don't figure that's going to help anything, just let us know where we're getting bogged down.:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

    That having been said, if everyone was affected, we have had periods where our server gets bogged down. If you remember, a few weeks ago we couldn't view any pictures stored here and Peter had to do some maintenance. We have outgrown this server and should be looking for a change in the near future. That's one reason we asked everyone to sign up for the new Gauge Google Group.
  5. Chessie6459

    Chessie6459 Gauge Oldtimer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was having some troubles earlier today and I have cable. A couple of times it wouldn't even pop up for me. But it is working fine now.
  6. Woodie

    Woodie Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,227
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's fine in this far flung outpost of the British Empire. Goes just like a bought one, it does. And It's got a heck of lot further to go to get here. :):) sign1
  7. wickman

    wickman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    0
    For me I tend to get a lot of freezing pages in the midway of my post but that could also be my puter acting up:)