Sorry for the dumb question ... but...

vanda32547

Jun 4, 2002
Miami Florida
www.geocities.com
Does the sound of the engine running, whistle, bell, steam, etc. come from the locomotives themselves or from the DCC System console somehow? I am new to this and am considering going with DCC for my new layout but I am somewhat confused about the particulars of this system.

Thanks,

trainwhiz20

Aug 9, 2004
Tampa, FL
Vanda,

I too am confused, just getting into DCC.

I do know that the sounds don't come from the engines themselves. When you install a sound system, a speaker is placed somewhere in the engine. It could be in the cab for diesels, the tender for steamers, etc.

But the DCC "console" (decoder/seperate speaker) produces the sound.

Understand? It's a little difficult, I know. I'm having enough trouble with DCC and the operational procedures myself, but hey, it's a learning process!

Woodie

Mar 23, 2001
Northern Rivers NSW Australia
The whistle/horn and diesel sound/choof choof etc comes from the loco itself.

It requires a "sound decoder", which is a little circuit board that goes inside the loco itself. The DCC console/controller sends computer signals along the tracks which are picked up by the circuit board in the loco. For sound, this little circuit board also has a little speaker attached to it.

i.e. you configure, using the controller, the little circuit board inside the loco, to say it is "loco number 21" or whatever number, and when you press the buttons on the controller, it sends a computer signal along the tracks to, say, "loco number 21 + whistle", and the speaker inside the loco will TOOOOOT!!. Or, the controller sends a computer signal along the tracks to "loco number 21 + turn headlight on", or "loco number 21 + increase speed 1 notch" or "loco number 21 + go in reverse", or "loco number 21 + turn engine sound on", etc etc etc.

get the idea?

Pooh Bah
Mar 25, 2002
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Visit site