Some photo help please...

Herc Driver

Apr 18, 2005
North Carolina
I'm no expert at this so I've got to ask...how to you allow all the objects in the photo to be in focus when taking a close up picture? My digital camera has lots of settings (and I actually read the owners manual for a change) but I can never seem to get a photo like the first one below with all the screen in focus. Is it a depth of field issue? All you out there that take great photo's of your layout...how do you do it? The other two pictures were taken to prove that it will focus, even through or past near objects...but I can't get multiple things (like all three Southern diesels) in focus like I'd be standing on a hill taking it for real.

Attachments

• Copy of P7200472.JPG
    Copy of P7200472.JPG
    60.4 KB · Views: 161
  • Copy of P7200482.JPG
    Copy of P7200482.JPG
    61 KB · Views: 163
  • Copy of P7200485.JPG
    Copy of P7200485.JPG
    62.4 KB · Views: 158

UP SD40-2

Apr 29, 2006
Herc, NICE engines!:thumb: hey, i know of a program you can D/L for free off the net that will help you out with your problem. i myself don't use it as my camera doesn't really give me the problems you are going through, but MANY others just like you use a program to fix the depth quality. PROBLEM, i am sorry to say i cant remember the name of the program:(...HOWEVER, if you go to Z.net or C.nets free d/l's you should be able to find it. cripes man, i am sorry thats all i can give you, but i hope it will help.:D GOOD LUCK! -Deano

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site
I am not sure that you can fix a focus/depth of field problem after the fact.