Some Ideas Please :)

courtneydaqueen

Oct 16, 2005
Hey everybody!
I am new to the world of model train sets, and wanted to get some opinions from the resident experts at this forum. I want to purchase a model train set for my fiancee for our anniversary. He has always wanted one, but his parents could never afford one when he was a child. Now I want to get him one, but I have no idea where to even begin. So, what is a good model train set to begin with - one that is affordable, but will withstand the test of time? Any information would help me out a lot! Thanks for your help! :)

Courtney

green_elite_cab

Keep It Moving!
Apr 4, 2005
Hainesport NJ
For HO scale, avoid anything that says Life Like on it, unless it says Proto 1000 or 2000 on it. otherwise its not worth it.

May I suggest an Athearn trainset? They are a great start. Keep in mind however that some of their sets onlyhave a locomotive and freightcars, but it will be clearly labeled.

It might even be the best idea to make your own trainset. Go ask you local hobby shop what good quality stuff he has, and seperately buy your own railroad cars, locomoitves, power pack, and track.

MRC or Spectrum Magnum power packs are best. Only get track that says its Nickel silver. Locomotives from Athearn, Bachmann Spectrum (not normal bachmann, avoid that), and Atlas are good starting points. Keep in mind this is only HO scale.

Just about everyone is Familiar with Lionel trains, which is the next scale up, O. I can't say much for O scale trains. i received a set when i was 6, and its lasted pretty well, but once again, ask your Local hobby shop. O scale gets expensive, and it seems pretty complicated to me. what kind of train did he want?

tillsbury

Jul 18, 2004
NZ