Some help with my first structure

FrankG

I'm very new to model railroading -- N scale. Not sure this is the right forum for this question, but this one seemed most appropriate.

I'm in the middle of building my very first structure. An old brick factory.

I have the walls painted Boxcar Red and they've been fully weathered. The windows and doors have been painted a prototypical green color and installed. Basically, what I have is the building fully assembled without roofs or misc small details in place.

The problem is that the colors are not what I thought they would be. From a distance, the brick and windows/doors don't really have any contrast, and the entire building has a brownish look to it after weathering (I weathered the brick...not the window frames).

What I'd like to do is leave the window/door color as it is but lighten the brick without having to repaint the whole thing and re-weather.

I don't currently have mortar lines because I found that I wasn't very good (in N scale) at doing a mortar wash. Maybe that's one route I should try again.

But is there an easy way to lighten the brick color across the entire building without effecting the windows? Is there a product I can maybe just brush on that will lighten the overall color?

Tyson Rayles

You didn't say what you used to color the walls so I'm guessing it was paint and can't be removed. What I would try is brushing on pastel chalks, if it doesn't come out the way you like you can wash it off and try again.

shaygetz

Welcome to The Gauge. There are as many ways out of this fix as there are people in this forum :thumb:. Tyson's is a good one especially easy to clean off if you're not happy with the effect. Another one is drybrushing. Take and dip your brush in your desired color, wipe it almost clean on a rag then quickly brush it with downward strokes 'til your desired effect is attained.

jkristia