Small layout

YuG

Jun 22, 2007
blogs.yahoo.co.jp
I am not a complete novice railroad modeler. Once I built relatively small size HOn3 layout featuring American logging line that I like very much. Later when I moved to new home I had to throw it away.
Seeing many excelent locos, rolling stocks and layout I am unable to resist the attraction of rebuild my layout.
Here one problem is limited space. I must give up to run three track shays or On3 locos.
I am going to build a layout that have 150mm radius curve so that HOn30 Bettsy can pass there.
Size of the layout I am envisioning is approx 20inch by 40inch.

Does somebody know whether small layout pictures are in this site that I can refer to making mine?

Trains I have in hand are in the picture
logging_line.jpg

YuG

Jun 22, 2007
blogs.yahoo.co.jp
Thanks a lot.
I have visited both two sites and saw interersting planning and pictures at micro/small layout. For a certain time, I will enjoy planning micro layout in one way and another.
And thanks to move my post to right place.

Russ Bellinis

Feb 13, 2003
Lakewood, Ca.
Visit site
I'm not sure what a 155mm radius curve is in inches. If it is small enough to allow an oval on 20 inches x 40 inches, I would do an oval on the base for continous running, build a big mountain so that most of the oval is hidden. Leave some sort of access to rerail trains inside the tunnell, and then build a switch back up the mountain to a logging camp on top. It would seem to me that with a small passing siding to act as a sort of interchange between the oval and the switch back sections, that you could get a lot of operation in a small space that way.

Triplex

Aug 24, 2005
Calgary, Alberta, Canada