Securing Track

etraindude

I posted this earlier and no one has replied..since this is extremely basic I am posting the question again and hoping for an answer!

I am a beginner and setting up an N gauge setup. I did some Model railraoding when I was young but....
I forgot how I need to secure the track and I have done MANY searches without an answer to my specific questions.

I have a base setup and it is covered with woodland scenics grass. I have the layout of the track setup on it the way I would like but have not secured to anything. Basically temporarily put together to test the layout but not attached to anything,just lying their!

What steps do I take to secure the track? Do I take up the temp layout and the lay the roadbed? I have the woodland scenics trackbed.

How will I make the curves with the straight trackbed? What is the best way to seccure the track to the roadbed?

I basically am looking for some step by step to explain how, and in what steps do I lay the trackbed and secure the track.

And also, I hope that as I learn I can contribute to the group!

etraindude

Perhaps one of the reasons for a shortage on the answers is that what you request is difficult to accomplish.

Woodland scnenics foam road bed is tough to temporarily attach to a solid substrate. If your substrate is foam then you can use T pins or staples from a staple gun to temp it in place. For the curves, you must split the foam with a sharp knife down the pre-split (partially) center. Mark the center of your curve radius and then align the split foam roadbed's cut edge with that line. The second piece is easy to place as it butts against the first.

If your substrate is solid you can use a staple gun to tack the roadbed down and the track too but it is difficult to avoid breaking ties, etc. (My experience is HO so N might be impossible. ??).