Rolling Stock

masphx

Oct 25, 2006
Rolling Stock

Hi, new here.

Just wanted to get my feet wet with the right kind of rolling stock and here what all of you had to say about the different brands. I’m just starting out and my era might be the late steam early diesel time frame. I’m looking for close to the real thing but not but not a train car which is already complete, perfect and expensive. I like putting things together and painting them so I was thinking that Athearn’s normal blue box rolling stock was fine for me.
Just wanted info about how close to the real thing these cars are and if I buy some what are some upgrades which I could do? What other brands are around which match Athearn's in quality (above or below)?
Any tips on putting these cars together?
Thx
Mason

MilesWestern

Sep 20, 2005
CA
protopaintwest.googlepages.com
OK, Well I model that era! What locale you thinking about because different regions produce different things:

In the US (Very generally)
NE: Steel
Central East: Coal
SE: Textiles
Upper Midwest: Autos
Lower Midwest: grain
NW: Apples
CA: Produce
SW: Ore

Where do you want to go today? :D

masphx

Oct 25, 2006
I'm still unsure about the location. I'm living in Arizona so it might be desert but not sure.
Becasue of this I might just start out with some boxcars.
This way I'm not boxed into a certain industry or area.

MilesWestern

Sep 20, 2005
CA
True, make sure to look at the build dates on the side of the car, to protray an accurate Era. (for example "BLT-10-43" Means the car was built October 1943) Here's the clincher though, There might be a (For example "New-9-62" Sept 1962) which means the car was either rebuilt, repainted, or had heavy repairs done that particular car, or a whole fleet. You can usually open Athearn, Bachmann, Accurail and other manufacturer's boxes to look at the very important lettering.