Rolling stock storage - what do you do?

dhutch

Nov 14, 2004
www.spurstow.com
I was wondering what people useally do to store there rolling stock, i currently only have 12 waggons/vans and 5 coaches

- i have boxes for about 1/2 of them, but puting it in therre after avery time i run them, just never happens and they and up geting left and damaged

- i had though of makeing an airtight siding out of perspex, so i should just shunt it all together and gentaly roll in into the perspex tunnel, and then seal then cover the entrance, bingo.

but i was wodnering what other people do for storage, when there not packing it all up into a box (ie taking it to an exhibition or longterm)

daniel

docsnavely

Sep 20, 2004
Zushi, Japan
dhutch,

that's an awesome idea! what about an entire siding boxed in plexiglass? i'm sure someone has done/thought/posted this idea already, but since I'm a beginner, I have the excuse of ignorance!:rolleyes: If any salty MRR's out there have any pics or stories, please share!!!! Thanks!

-doc

jetrock

Dec 18, 2003
Visit site
Personally I built a fairly large yard so I would have a place to store cars not in use. At least in my house anything left on the layout isn't going to get touched except by dust, so breakage isn't an issue if it is on the layout--if you share your layout space with cats, this could be a risk (Try sprinkling cayenne pepper on the layout--the cats will find other places to play!)

The main problem with the perspex tube is, what happens when one of your cars derails inside the tube??

CalFlash

Oct 31, 2004
central Florida
I bought one of the ProtoPower sets with the zippered bag and boxes and some additional boxes. They came in handy when I needed to take some to my friend's layout or when we changed eras by swapping equipment. I made some similiar ones a little shorter out of a bunch of cardboard boxes cut up and redone.

dhutch

Nov 14, 2004
www.spurstow.com