rock molds and modeling geology

Santa Fe Jack

Jul 20, 2006
Lost Almost, New Mexico
As a geologist, I'll be paying particular attention to some extensive rock outcroppings and railroad cuts on my layout. I've been looking at some the rubber rock molds that are available, and some look to be good for this. But I'd need a variety of types, and the expense of buying them new from, say, Woodland Scenics, builds.

So, I'm wondering, once people have built their layouts, and have used these molds, what do they do with them? Certainly they are fairly durable. Surely, not every modeler buys a new set of these molds just to be used a few times.

Does anyone here have any used molds that s/he would be interested in selling?

Another approach is to make my own molds, using real rocks and some sort of rubber molding material. Has anyone had success with this technique?

I've been having lots of fun ideas about rocks -- modeling type localities (the geologist's term for "prototype") and marine transgressive sequences and the like. The cutaway back of the mountain could have fun things going on inside - a coal mine, a tourist cavern, a geologic radioactive waste disposal facility (my personal favorite). Any fellow geologists out there?

Max

Nov 1, 2006
I ordered a gallon of latex from delviesplastics.com and expect it to arrive next week. It cost 36 dollars plus 15 bucks shipping. I've done a fair bit of casting from molds but never made one. I'll give you the details on how things turn out. Unless it becomes one of those episodes too terrible and unsettling to ever relate.

These are the links I plan to use for info:

http://www.modeltrain.com/rubbermold/rubbermold.html

http://www.geology.wisc.edu/~museum/hughes/latexmold_notes.html