Rivarossi Disaster!

ed acosta

I often heard that fatigue of metal castings was fairly common in earlier kits. Yet, I’ve had no such experience with the many old cast metal freight cars that I own. So, I was surprised to find that the cast metal mainframe of a Rivarossi manufactured between 1974 and 1980 had disintegrated. I don’t know enough about the process or type of metal used in these casting and what makes one lot of castings more susceptible to cracking than another. I own several other Rivarossi (AHM) locomotives and I find no evidence of failure in those, but I wonder if any other forum members have experienced similar failures with Rivarossi.

I always loved the early “Flat Faced” Southern Pacific Cab Forwards (AC-4,5,6) but I just could not see spending $1500 for a brass model, so I didn’t think I would ever own one. Then, several years ago, a friend sold me a Rivarossi AC-11 Cab Forward in pieces for twenty bucks. Here was my opportunity to create a flat faced cab forward with a bit of modification! The original rectangular tender was missing as were other small parts. Soon, I found a Bachmann Vanderbilt tender that was exactly correct for my AC-6 (how lucky can that be). I removed the front of the cab and created a ‘flat’ one from sheet styrene. Then I shaved off many cast-on details and replaced them with brass parts. I was proud of my AC-6 and have enjoyed that loco for about 15 years. Then it happened. Last week I picked up the engine and the rear powered truck fell off!

Cab Fwd2_edited.jpg