reworking the lifelike docksider

LR&BRR

OK all this is my first try at modifing a locomotive. this is the docksider in allits little parts.
abx.jpg

first of all the NWSL gear box 139-6
.226 wide
.646 long
heigth is not a problem i have room for more weigth above the gear box.
acd.sized.jpg

the original gear location is
.336 wide
.550 long
need to open this up .050 on each end.
on the bottom of the frame there is a web .060 wide this is first to go. using a very sharp knife I cut this out carefully
i used the kife again on the other side slowly slicing offfrom the center out to the sides.
aby.sized.jpg

i was going to leave the original tabs but they were in the way.
the center ended up being opened up to .680 in length.
a close up of the new opening
aca.sized.jpg

sorry for its poor focus but you get the drift.

ok the original intent was to keep the exsisting motor for the power.
ace.sized.jpg

this made the gear box shaft to low. so to try to keep the motor i cut the front of the frame at an angle to allow the gear box to be rotated to the front of the loco. here is the results.
acb.sized.jpg

ok for now i am going to stop and rethink the motor deal.
hmm i have some more pictures of this on
http://www.railimages.com/gallery/harryrichardson

LR&BRR

latest update after mulling over my options. I have desided to up grade the motor too. as of theis morning i ordered a nwsl 20275-9 motor which is 20x28 mm dble shafted 15x2.4mm. also ordered a flywheel 403-6 2.4mm shaft dia. 18mm dia. x11mm . and a universal drive line coupling a 484-6. the parts should be here next week so for now this project goes to the back shelf. my thinking is a flywheel should give me double benefits as added weight and better control of the locomotive.

i will up date this as i get the parts and show the final modifications to the unit