Reverse loop issues

Kevinkrey

I love having my reverse loop, because its amazing for operational purposes. I have a switch off my mainm that goes directly into a wye, where the loop ends meet. The loop itself is about 16' feet long, and powered by a Bachman reverse loop module. I moved to a MRC dcc system, and have finally been able to run trains with it now that Ive cleaned after painting the track. Whenever the loco hits the rail gaps, it causes the system to stall. I never had this problem with the Bachman dcc system, I dont know if I need a new reverse module, or if I can play with the locations of the gaps to make a difference. Im not good at explaining this, so ask questions if need be. But can anybody help?

Pooh Bah
Kevin: did you just install the new system where the old one was?
The was an article (MR, a few years ago?) comparing several reverse loop modules and finding that there were sensitivity issues with some of them but sensitivity could be adjusted.
Does the system short out or just pause and restart? Can you hear the module click? (does it click?) What happens if you short over the rail gaps with a coin? (short one rail over the plastic joiner, then the other one, then the other pair).

Kevinkrey

Yes I simply swaped out the DCC system, Bachman to MRC, and left the Bachman module in. with the old system, it would click, and short out the train for a breif (not noticeable) second while reversing polarity. And it all worked fine. But now what is happining, is the new DCC system is more sensitive. Ill try the coin trick tomorrow.

Kevinkrey