Reraileur Road Crossing

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by rockislandmike, Apr 10, 2002.

  1. rockislandmike

    rockislandmike Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, instead of my usual smartass comments, I have an actual question.

    On my very narrow "diorama" for my work cubie, I'm using a reraileur as a road crossing. My road leading away from it is, of course, significantly less wide than the reraileur. So how do I camouflage the rest of it??? Can't really put ballast on it. Any ideas.
  2. roryglasgow

    roryglasgow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Take a hacksaw to it? :) Or maybe you could put "dirt" on it and make the slopes that fall outside the road part of a ditch that runs along the track...

    -Rory
  3. BDC

    BDC Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Plant trees, bushes, and MOW equipment shacks in front of the offending portions?
  4. billk

    billk Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2001
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why do you need a rerailer on a diorama? Take it out and do a good model of a grade crossing. That's my story and ...
  5. kf4jqd

    kf4jqd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use them!

    Shane:

    I use rerailers. Here is an older picture of one. Notice I use Woodland Senic "dirt" and a RR crossing

    Andy

    Attached Files:

  6. RI541

    RI541 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    0
    I biuld my grade crossings with dura bond 20 joint compound then run a junkie car through it to get a flange way. the dura bond is stainable or paintable. I think that a reailer is toyish looking on a lay-out.Just my opinion.

    If you put a rerailer on then what are the guy's in the caboose going to do?:) :D :)