Remote controlled uncoupling

Acela82

Are there any systems on the market to uncouple a Kadee equipped locomotive from a car remote controlled via DCC? I´m not talking about a stationary magnet or something like that, i mean a system installed in the locomotive, i have planned to add such a system to an Atlas locomotive, but don´t know how to do it...

Thanks, Michael

hummerdaves

Last year MRR did a article on DCC controlled un-coupling. An electric actuator was installed in a H.O SW1200, But I have forgotten what issue it was.

Hope this will help.:thumb:

zedob

They didn't seem too impressed with it if I recall correctly.

Didn't it lift the coupler on the loco up?

Seems like a very small selenoid could be used to pull the "air hose" in Kadees' natural flow of motion. I don't operate using DCC, so I'm no expert, but I believe some of the newer recievers have enough functions available to operate an accessory like a selenoid. If you can turn on a ditch light, you should be able to fire up a selenoid.

The mechanics would probably be the hardest, but not insurmountable. It would definately be a nice option for a loco.

Russ Bellinis

It might be an interresting excercise, but since you could only uncouple a car from the locomotive, and not be able to "work" an entire train, it would seem to be very limited.

Acela82

Russ you are right, but whats on the Prototype? Only the locomotive, if ever, has an automatic coupler, i think they are installed on some switchers. The cars must be uncoupled by hand...

zedob

I thought about that too, but seeing what's available in DCC these days, would it be possible to have recievers in cars equipped with controllable couplers?

It wouldn't be cheap to convert all of one's fleet, but it would be rather neat.

Hey, I can dream.

Gary Pfeil