Reality check

Discussion in 'Track Planning' started by SAL Comet, Nov 14, 2004.

  1. SAL Comet

    SAL Comet Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I've been thumbtacking down some track and turnouts to see how my plan is go to work on the limited realestate I have. I'm discovering that 1' on the benchwork ain't the same as 1' on the planning software. I'm still trying to cram it all in there, But I may have to scale back my trackage. even though every thing on the plan is to scale, it just seams different in real life. Anyone else encountered this?

    Attached Files:

  2. 60103

    60103 Pooh Bah

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't comment on software, but I know that lots of professional track planners manage to cram in more track than will work. One job you should do now is put down a crossover and measure how long it is. In HO they may run 2 feet or longer. In hand drawn plans, they show the theoretical intersection of the main and other line; this usually come about where the points are pivoted and there are a few inches of point and an inch of atraight track beyond.
  3. Matthyro

    Matthyro Will always be re-membered

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    Reality really does show that when it comes to laying track, there has to be adjustments as what looks good on paper doesn't always fit.
  4. kchronister

    kchronister Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    Odd... I use el-freebie RTS track planning software from Atlas... I only works in "sectional" track, while I use flex, but I just mentally "get over" that...

    Having said that, I have had exactly the opposite experience: if the software says it will fit, it will fit. A few things I did not think would fit did. A few things I thought "oh come on, of course that will fit" did NOT...
  5. Urban

    Urban New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sure, we've a tendency to draw track as a line, when in reality it's an area.
  6. SAL Comet

    SAL Comet Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, It all goes on there, just like the plan said. Problem is, all the sidings are too short and crowded looking. It turns out that only about 9 or 10" of the 12" shelf are usable, because of the sloped ceiling. :curse: Gonna have to change things I think:mad:
  7. screwysquirrel

    screwysquirrel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    0
    ick.

    Best idea then is shorten the leads to the sidings, and keep the siding lengths
  8. CalFlash

    CalFlash Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know what software you're using to design your layout, but I'm using PlanIt3D and although I don't use all the features (3D stuff) it has been well worth it for a layout my size (13' x 32') Not only did I lay out the track but set elevations, compute wire runs and lengths for DCC, etc. One very nice feature is the ability to make changes rapidly. I used this ability to adjust my elevations and was able to reduce the max grade from 1.9 to 1.4 which I suspect will pay off in train lengths possible.