RC10-GT Engine Overreving

Discussion in 'RC Offroad Forum' started by AWScamanche, Jun 8, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AWScamanche

    AWScamanche New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a RC10 GT and the engine has had this problem for a while, but im just now getting around to fixing it. Whenever I start it up (using a pull start) as soon as it starts the engine revs to the point where it is smoking within 3 seconds. I tried adjusting the idle speeds and the fuel mixture screws. I checked the carb as well. Any ideas as to how to fix this problem or at least what the problem is?
  2. dj6666969

    dj6666969 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds as if the high speed needle is set to high OR you need a rebuilt. Also you shouldn't have waiting to long to fix it after its been doing this for awhile, that don't help to the problem
  3. AWScamanche

    AWScamanche New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    what is a rebuilt?
  4. dj6666969

    dj6666969 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    A rebuild is a new piston and sleeve for the engine. The 1 you have in it now might be warn out and that is why its being weird. A new 1 cost roughtly about half the cost of a new engine.
  5. AWScamanche

    AWScamanche New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. AWScamanche

    AWScamanche New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. dj6666969

    dj6666969 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    That sleve and piston is for a trx .15 but the stock rc10gt comes with a AE .15, these will not interchance. I can not remember what kind of crank style is on the AE .15 but I know that the block sizes are the same. LM look into it in a few mins ok..

    EDIT: From looking at a replacemnet shaft I see that the crankshaft's are differen't meaning it wouldn't fit. the AE .15 has a theaded shaft while the other motor, the .18 has a shaft that uses a E or a C what ever one you wana call it, to keep the clutch bell on and working :)
  8. redheat

    redheat Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re-set your throttle linkage setting , RED
  9. socks

    socks New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    sounds like the carb might be leeking air. i had that problem fixed right up with some silicon around the carb where the carb meets the crank case.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.