Rail

nmoon

Apr 17, 2001
Arkansas
Visit site
I'm a newbie! Recently purchased older tru-scale roadbed for my future American Flyer layout. Have learned that original AF track has .220 rail. Best advice so far is to use .148 weathered brass. I would like a second opinion before purchasing.

LC

Apr 5, 2001
Visit site
Biggerhammer is very correct, brass rail is very hard to maintain, and I know of no one who uses it at all anymore.
My advise, don't use it. It was all we had years ago and darn hard to keep trains running right. It can even turn green with age.
Spend your time running trains, not trying to figure out why they arn't running.
And no matter what, always use a block system even with D.C.C., it is much easier to find a short in that type of system than attempting to find one with no blocks.
Happy modeling,
Lance

nmoon

Apr 17, 2001
Arkansas
Visit site
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Biggerhammer:
I'm certainly no expert, but I've been advised by many with experience that brass rail requires considerably more cleaning to reliably run.</font>

No Brass recommended by 2 people. I'll definately go another route, but my ignorance pops up again. What type rail would you recommend?

nmoon

Apr 17, 2001
Arkansas
Visit site
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by LC:
Biggerhammer is very correct, brass rail is very hard to maintain, and I know of no one who uses it at all anymore.
My advise, don't use it. It was all we had years ago and darn hard to keep trains running right. It can even turn green with age.
Spend your time running trains, not trying to figure out why they arn't running.
And no matter what, always use a block system even with D.C.C., it is much easier to find a short in that type of system than attempting to find one with no blocks.
Happy modeling,
Lance
</font>

OK! No Brass. What do you recommend. Sorry to be so dumb, but what is a block system?
Neal

shamus

Registered Member
Dec 17, 2000
UK
Hi nmoon,