Radius Size?

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by Charles Mark, Mar 5, 2005.

  1. Charles Mark

    Charles Mark Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is 11 inch radius acceptable to use on my layout? I want to make sure most anything will run without problems. Thanks
  2. jon-monon

    jon-monon Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    4,764
    Likes Received:
    0
    N scale? Should be OK for diesels.
  3. Charles Mark

    Charles Mark Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    I plan on running diesels however I have several steam including a Big Boy. Just need to know if I am in trouble trying to run something like that.
  4. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bigger is always better when it comes to radius...! You can always have parts of the layout "off-limits" to the BigBoy, just as was done in the real world. Let the little 0-6-0 handle the industrial switching on sub-11 inch curves, and let the BigBoy run out on the main with 11/15/?? curves.

    Andrew
  5. brakie

    brakie Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    0
    Charles,I would go with the largest curves possible for long wheel base locos like that Big Boy and long wheel base cars like passenger cars.You won't regret it farther down the line in smooth operation of your trains as they traverse your layout.
  6. spitfire

    spitfire Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,536
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could always contact the manufacturer and find out what is the minimum radius they recommend.
    Another approach, and IMO the best, is to lay out a test track of the radius you want to use and run your engines thru the curve. This is good for grades as well.

    Val
  7. Charles Mark

    Charles Mark Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've decided to widen the one curve that I am concerned about. No track has been laid. I bought another set of WS inclines yesterday so will correct the possible problem now. I'm learning as I build for sure.
  8. ezdays

    ezdays Out AZ way

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Charles,

    Just as a suggestiion, why not set up a test track with the radius you want and see if you can get your loco around it easily.