Questions for 1950's era trains

First, about how many streamlined and heavy weight passenger cars can a single F7A pull?

Second, can you point me to an online guide on how to determine if a freight car belongs to the 1950's?

I'm on vacation right now. I'll be having time (and money, hehe) for my layout when I get some database and e-commerce solutions done for relatives. Btw, I'm still a student and blissfully spending vacations on my HO layout. Oh, and I'm just a beginner with this model railroad hobby. I have a 4x8, and I have no plans of expanding it right now. :)

doctorwayne

How many cars any loco can pull is determined by a number of factors, including make of the loco, make and rolling qualities of the cars, the weight of both locos and cars, the radius of any curves (and the number of curves that the train will be in at any one time) and the presence of any grades.
On a 4'x8' layout, your F-unit may be able to pull enough cars to stretch completely around the layout, but it won't look very believeable.;) I'd suggest a train of 3 or 4 cars at most for a passenger train.