Question!!!!!!

LarryGarrett

Need some opinions. I've been reading-up on the wiring for DCC, and so far I'm understanding it---I think...lol....Anyway, since I've only got 6-7 switches on the entire layout, I'm hoping it will be pretty straight forward. At this point, I'm trying to avoid any reverse looping, etc...........New the question---in regard to the locomotives......Should I install the decoders myself, or have the hobby shop do it? Is it difficult? I realize that some engines are easier than others, BUT, what would you recommend? Keep in mind that I'm no electrician. Once I get past screwing in a lightbulb, things start getting hazy. Yet, if it's a "straight forward" process, I'll give it a try.

Pooh Bah
Larry: as one who's never done it, I don't think it looks that hard. Unless you go for sound and lights.
I would say, if you can see two wires going to the motor from the wheels, it should be obvious. If one side of the circuit has no wires, if it's all conducted through the frame, you night have a problem. Can you solder fine wires? Other problem is finding a place for the decoder to sit. You can get prewired harnesses for some popular diesels that just pop in. (Athearn, I know of.) Other wise you cut the two wires in half, solder to four places in the socket, and pop the chip in. Lights have further connections with LEDs being an interesting problem -- check the thread that was done on that.
Then you program it.
You might consider having the LHS do one for you to begin with.

Railery

Hi Larry i'm the same way.
Keep in mind that I'm no electrician. Once I get past screwing in a lightbulb, things start getting hazy
i found u have to be pretty fair with a soldering gun. Installing decoder is easy. Putting in a harness or new board can be tricky.

MCL_RDG

Shotgun topic for a specific target.