Question

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by ENGINEERBOB, Jan 11, 2007.

  1. ENGINEERBOB

    ENGINEERBOB New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I just got started back in to HO [started with HO then got rid of it because it was taking up my apartment space so went to N. Then I moved so dad & I built a small N layout, but dad saw a good HO train set with my other hobby them on it [police] & he got me the 'to serve & protect' HO train set. The layout is an 8 x 4 & we thought that I would get one engine & 2 or 3 cars. I got 1 engine + a dummy engine [what are dummy engines used for anyway?] + I got 2 passenger cars + a flatbed with 2 police cars on it & a search light car. I also got a lot of track with it, so dad & I went out to get some more HO stuff yesterday & I found out the track is called EZ TRACK & my question is this;

    Can I hand throw the switch even if it is for power [we got some so to hock up later to the power]? Thanks. :)


    #####[BOB]#######
  2. CNWman

    CNWman CNW Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    1.welcome back to HO scale
    2.A dummy engine is just for looks IMO
    3.yes, you can hand throw switches in EZ track. It's actualy easier than those little switchboxes they give you. I know cause I'm stuck with it.
  3. ENGINEERBOB

    ENGINEERBOB New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I had them in my first HO set & now on my N set.
  4. Jim Krause

    Jim Krause Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    The dummy engines are strictly for appearances without having to spend alot of money and having to deal with matching two engines together. You probably noticed that it is quite light. No motor or gearbox and maybe no frame. If you don't have grades or long trains that require a lot of power, they are fine.
  5. ENGINEERBOB

    ENGINEERBOB New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, yesterday dad wanted me to take them apart & I saw the engine going but not the other one. My last HO set had 2 engines & I thought it was a dummy one, but the only dummy was me [lol] because the B unit worked.
  6. Ralph

    Ralph Remember...it's for fun!

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,342
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use dummy locomotives on most of my trains to get that multi unit appearance. Only the lead F unit on this train is powered.

    Attached Files:

  7. prodigy2k7

    prodigy2k7 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    A dummy engine is just for looks, if you dont need the extra power or dont need to buy another loco (they can be expensive) you can just use a dummy, looks exactly the same, to other people they cant tell the difference
  8. prodigy2k7

    prodigy2k7 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ralph: nice weathering on those. I like how one looks dirtier than the other two. Its hard to tell from the photograph but nice :)
  9. 60103

    60103 Pooh Bah

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the headlight works, I use the dummy as a leading unit pushed by the powered one. (If it has a cab). Sometimes the powered unit is full of mechanism but there is room in the dummy for cab details and a crew.
  10. Thoroughbreed

    Thoroughbreed Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe the main reason dummy units were sold:
    1) to give the appearance of multi-unit
    2) to not draw the extra amperage of a second unit
    3) so you could have a yard full of engines (on dc) and only 1 running around:D
  11. ENGINEERBOB

    ENGINEERBOB New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I us to do this with my first 'B unit' as in using it as a crew engine & use the front & rear door as a way the work crew operates the engine. But I guess each railroad [public or Private Park owned] does it differently.

    Attached Files:

  12. Ralph

    Ralph Remember...it's for fun!

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,342
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. ENGINEERBOB

    ENGINEERBOB New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, will look @ it & bless you.

    Bob
  14. NYNH&H

    NYNH&H Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dummy engines are fine for a short train. What some people do is put a DCC sound unit in the B unit, while the A unit is powered. This is easier to program, cheaper, and the only way to do sound in many n scale locos. In HO, it just allows a bigger speaker. Some people will also have dummy helpers, although now with DCC, it is more common to MU speed matched locos that have been matched with CVs 2, 5, and 6.
  15. ENGINEERBOB

    ENGINEERBOB New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is what dad told me too [I saved the link too], this sounds like a good idea. After I get it all set up I will see if I cannot add a speaker to it, dad was talking about it one time so I do not know.

    Thanks & God bless

    Bob
  16. NYNH&H

    NYNH&H Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is more complicated then that. You need DCC to do sound, and a sound decoder. Thus, your other loco will need a decoder as well, and you will need a DCC system. If this is more than you want, just stick with what you have. The sound dummy system is typically used on larger layouts, where power and programming are very important, more so than having the flexibility to run all of the locos independently.
  17. ENGINEERBOB

    ENGINEERBOB New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    My HO is not DCC but my N is, I read that I the people who did this layout I am doing suggest DCC & used it.
  18. NYNH&H

    NYNH&H Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you want to have more than one train, DCC is the way to go.
  19. ENGINEERBOB

    ENGINEERBOB New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Amen on that