question re tank treads

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a newbie folks so I hope this post is in the right forum. I've completed my first armored vehicle - the Maly Putilow-Garford armored car and have now worked up the fortitude to deal with a tracked vehicle and all those little cleats and bogies and such.
I will be building a simple tank model first - the ModelCard Panzer II Ausf. C. I'm considering assembling the tracks first as this seems to be the most labor intensive part of the build. Once this is done, I figure the rest will be a real pleasure. I have two quick and easy questions about the track build though:
The instructions say to sandwich "cardboard" between the wheel and groundside halves of the track (printed on thin paper). There is no * or + indicated to suggest either 1mm or 0.5mm cardboard. Which do I use - or, do I just sandwich in a layer of card stock?

Thanks for your advice,
Don

Here's a link to a slideshow of my Putilow-Garford
Click here

charliec

Jan 18, 2004
Brisbane, Australia
rockpaperscissor said:
I will be building a simple tank model first - the ModelCard Panzer II Ausf. C. I'm considering assembling the tracks first as this seems to be the most labor intensive part of the build. Once this is done, I figure the rest will be a real pleasure. I have two quick and easy questions about the track build though:
The instructions say to sandwich "cardboard" between the wheel and groundside halves of the track (printed on thin paper). There is no * or + indicated to suggest either 1mm or 0.5mm cardboard. Which do I use - or, do I just sandwich in a layer of card stock?

The Modelcard tracks aren't very realistic but....