Question on atlas turn table.

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by Gil Finn, Mar 16, 2007.

  1. Gil Finn

    Gil Finn Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,510
    Likes Received:
    0
    I now have a new old stock Atlas turn table modle number 304
    originaly priced at $4.95 :D

    I know it is old as it has no zip code anywhere on it's makers address. of Hillside, NJ.

    I wonder if it is compatable with current made Atlas turn table motors?

    I can email the atlas folks put I though I might get a faster resonse and some ideas on a round house here.

    Many thanks and have a great St. Paddy's day.

    Gil Finn.
  2. hooknlad

    hooknlad Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gil - that would be an atlas turntable...
  3. steamhead

    steamhead Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gil,

    You can't do better than to talk to Atlas directly...I had trouble with the same turntable (Old, old model) that had stripped a gear. I called, and they sent me a new set of gears...for FREE...!!! Only trouble was, somewhere along the line they changed gears and the ones they sent didn't fit...:cry:

    So I used one of theirs and cut it to the right diameter and cut the teeth into it...:wave:
  4. Glen Haasdyk

    Glen Haasdyk Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    The newer turntable has twice as many index points in it. I changed out my old one for the newer one a year ago when I was putting in my enginehouse. I can't be sure if the mtors are interchangable on either since they upgraded motor changed the drive gears to a belt to make it quieter.
    I still have two of the old TTs as well as the older gear drive motor that I won't be using since the older drive screams like a banshee no matter how much you lube it.
  5. steamhead

    steamhead Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Glen...That banshee comment is right...They are noisy critters. I want to ask, are the two tables interchangeable? Can I just take out the old one & put the new one in..?? Thanks for any tips.
  6. Glen Haasdyk

    Glen Haasdyk Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sure, the tracks will still line up, you just will have new index points for more adaptability. Before you had to position a roundhouse far away from the TT and curve the tracks in, now it's much easier.
    Old turntable:
    [​IMG]

    New Turntable:
    [​IMG]
  7. steamhead

    steamhead Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Glen. I don't have a roundhouse to go with the t'table. I only have an engine house associated with it. I use it mostly to turn the engines around. Tx again.
  8. Gil Finn

    Gil Finn Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,510
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is what I said.
  9. Gil Finn

    Gil Finn Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,510
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a one bay engine house but I think I can make two atttached sheds.