Question for 12-14

Discussion in 'The Caboose' started by MasonJar, Dec 14, 2006.

  1. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you use track planning software or pencil and paper (or something else) to create your track plan?

    I have used both. First a pencil sketch of what I want to do, and then track planning software to be sure that it will fit in the space I have...

    Andrew
  2. railohio

    railohio Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pencil and paper. The price of the software will buy a lot of paper.
  3. Gil Finn

    Gil Finn Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    0
    I set down in the floor with a box of track and begian to connect.
  4. Nomad

    Nomad Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Xtrkcad for me.
  5. shortliner

    shortliner Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    XTrkcad - cheaper than pencil and paper even, and a darn sight more accurate
    Shortliner(Jack)away up here in the Highlands
  6. Cannonball

    Cannonball More Trains Than Brains

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's the best way. :D
  7. ezdays

    ezdays Out AZ way

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried using at least two of the free track planning software and just got frustrated. I use Turbocad for other things, so I've created my layouts in it just using the 2D functions. I have also sketched out full-sized curves and structure footprints on paper, just to make sure things fit the way they should.

    With all this planning, I still find myself pulling up and relaying tracks. wall1
  8. nolatron

    nolatron Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll usually just squiggle a line out on a piece of paper to get an idea of a general mainline plan. Then I use RailModeller on my mac for track planning to lay it out.

    I also recently got Empire Express for the mac, but find the interface not as friendly as RailModeller. Although it's a little easier to set min/max radius when using flex track.
  9. shaygetz

    shaygetz Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whutsza track plan?:thumb:
  10. santafewillie

    santafewillie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pencil and paper, then like Gil, start to connect track pieces.
  11. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Shaun,

    Tell me more about your Mac software please! I have an iMac G3 (OS9) and G4 (OSX 10.4) and would like to have something compatible. Right now I rely on a friend with an old PC and XTrkCAD to do my drawings...

    Thanks!

    Andrew
  12. N Gauger

    N Gauger 1:20.3 Train Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2000
    Messages:
    7,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Colored drawing pencils and 1/4" graph paper.... 4 squares to a foot....

    I color code the mains and sidings different colors, then I use the track plan to help in wiring the blocks.... Never failed me yet :)
  13. railohio

    railohio Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    0
    Only if you run Windoze
  14. oldtanker

    oldtanker Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried a couple of the free track planning programs, want to attack my puter with a hammer....so I ask for a lot of help on here!

    Rick
  15. cedarcreekrr

    cedarcreekrr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use autocad for the benchwork and pencil and graph paper for the track plan.
  16. FiatFan

    FiatFan Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    I put in a three track yard. Then I put some buildings on the layout and laid track to them. Then I put in the mainline and passing siding through town. Then I build another town using the same method as above. Then I put in the rest of the mainline to connect the two towns.

    In other words, I used neither software or pencil and paper.

    Tom
  17. Collyn

    Collyn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use everything. Pencill to get a general idea. 3D railroad to refine it and to make shure the plan will work, gradeints and such. And then i lay the track out to make sure everything looks good in the real world.
  18. zedob

    zedob Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm with Collyn, except I use 3rdPlanit for the trackwork. I'll doodle up some ideas, draw them up on the computer then print out the plan, doodle it to death, adjust the compter plan, print it, doodle it to death and so on. I've been working on the same plan for some months now. I can't get into any benchwork at this time, so I'm just taking my time fiddling around with it. Once the benchwork is up then I'll lay out some track to get a real 3D perspective (3D on the computer just doesn't quite do it).

    It's taken time to learn the program, but worth it. It's fun to try different ideas without having to "trace and erase". Eraser crumbs are almost a thing of the past over here.:thumb:
  19. Jim Krause

    Jim Krause Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Legal pad, pencil or pen. I usually end up with a bunch of scribbled notes, sketches and I can't understand them a month later.