Question Bethgon coalporters!

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by Rogerjr, Jan 30, 2004.

  1. Rogerjr

    Rogerjr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is the tightest radius that a bethgon coalporter can handle?
    my tightest is 24 is that to tight? Any input would be great


    Thanks
    Roger
  2. Matthyro

    Matthyro Will always be re-membered

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't heard about the bethgon coalporter but if your min radius is 24inches you should be able to handle anything. The only thing to watch out for is any overhang.
  3. Hoss

    Hoss Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    You'll have no problem whatsoever with a 24" radius. As short as the coalporters are, they could probably easily handle the 9-3/4" radius.

    Matthyro, I think he's referring to the Bethgon Coalporters that Kato just announced for release in April or so.
  4. Rogerjr

    Rogerjr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks

    yes i was talking about katos new coalporters i plan on getting about 50 of them for my layout. And i am also planning on buying about 5 or 6 ac4400 also i am trying to stay in ns theme that is just the jist of my thing i am planning to do. but thankyou for the help.

    Roger
  5. Hoss

    Hoss Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: thanks

    I wish I had your money my friend. I was thinking of reserving an 8 car pack but decided it was too much money. :( I do intend to get the three BNSF AC4400's though....as well as the two BN SD70MAC's when they come out.
  6. Rogerjr

    Rogerjr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    money

    I really don't have a lot of money were are getting a lot of snow where I live . I work with my dad and we make $75 an hour we split it of course. plus today was my 18th birthday so I scored some money that was cool. I plan on buying the AC4400S First.
    I am building my Railroad empire on a small income real small.
    Well good luck with your layout And thankyou for the input about the Bethgon cars.

    Roger
  7. Nscale4

    Nscale4 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rogerjr-Instead of getting AC4400's, mabye you could think of getting an SD80 or two. They're no problem on my 12 3/8" curves and Kato has 3 road#'s for NS just for the SD80.
  8. Rogerjr

    Rogerjr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanx for the suggestion

    I am not much on the SD80's I love the looks of the AC4400's there is something about them. I finished all my track work tonight finally. I have been working on it for a month now. My layout is not big it is 2 1/2FT by 8FT tomorrow i will finish the electrical stuff. well thanks again for the helpful advise


    Rogerjr
  9. HuskerN

    HuskerN New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rogerjr,

    if you have a 2 1/2 by 8 foot table, you must be using 24" diameter, and not 24" radius? If that is the case, you have 12" radius curves, which will handle most rolling stock, but are a bit tight for larger locomotives. I ran nothing but coal trains on my first layout, and the mainline had 14" radius curve, with 12" radius loop going through the flood loader. On the 12" loop, I did experience my sd90's pushing the 1st car off the rail. I simply added some weight to resolve this issue. My SD70macs worked a bit better.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]