Proto 2000 HO freight car kits

tetters

Rail Spiking Fool!
Jan 21, 2005
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
[sarcasm on]

The kits Gents. Not built up. Ya know, they come in a box with some big pieces but mostly little teenie tiny ones instead of a finished product. sign1
[sarcasm off]

I was wondering if any one here has had any experience in building them and what kind of success they have had? I have some model building experience, so the idea of putting these together isn't really bothering me. Although I doubt the USS Defiant will be landing on my layout anytime soon. The cost savings to me is worth it as well. I've got about 14 of them to do with possibly another 8 on the way. Yes, I am a glutton for punishment. (If some of you remember I also want to handlay all my track work which is also about to start.)

This is going to get interesting... and also take a while. Oh well, I'm in no hurry to get things done.

Russ Bellinis

Feb 13, 2003
Lakewood, Ca.
Visit site
I have done a bunch of them and like them very much. My only complaint is that I would prefer brass or stainless steel grab irons, steps, & ladders. It wouldn't be bad if they were used only on a home layout where I could build them once and never handle them again after putting them on the tracks, but having to transport them to shows to use on a modular layout has taken a toll on some of the delicate details. I would highly reccomend using sprue cutters to remove the parts from the sprue. In many cases the sprue is heavier duty than the parts it holds. By the way, buy all you can now. Kits seem to be fast becoming extinct.

tetters

Rail Spiking Fool!
Jan 21, 2005
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Thanks for the replies Gents. Is it possible to get brass parts for them? Those little bits sure do look fragile. Thanks for the advice on the sprue cutters.

If you are looking for kits. There are a shyte load of them on ebay from different sellers. All going in lots of 8-10 in some cases. Some deco'ed some un-deco'ed.