Progress on the Highline trestle

jwmurrayjr

HI folks! This is my first post on the Guage and I'm pretty new at this (about a year). You've got a lot of good stuff here.

Well, the Highline trestle is finally open for operation. Construction has made a major turning loop unavailable for some weeks now, but at last the bridge is open for traffic.

http://www.railroadforum.com/upload/jwmurrayjr/DSCF0085.JPG

http://www.railroadforum.com/upload/jwmurrayjr/DSCF0086.JPG

The landscaping crew still has a lot of work to do covering that blue foam and installing rocks, water, etc. (Model RR is sort of reverse of the prototype...you start with a nice flat plane which trains could really fly over and you build grades and stuff to slow them down and make operating more (??) interesting.)

Anyway thanks to Construction Consultant Railery and others for their help.

There's still a lot painting and detailing to be done but the trains are rolling.

Thanks for looking,

jwmurrayjr

Yes, the RGS is the "inspiration" but I'm afraid it's not going to be very prototypical: Standard HO, not narrow guage and I really don't know much about the mining and logging industries. But there is a lot to draw upon in these forums.

It'll be fun trying to make it look good and fun to run, I think.

Thanks,

Very nice, Jim. This looks like an excellent start to a very nice layout!

And welcome to the Gauge. There's a great bunch of folks here. And some of them are even sane. :D :D

jon-monon

:eek: :eek: :eek: WOW :eek: :eek: :eek: Love that tressle! How many years ya been doin' this stuff? :D :D :D I can sense loggin in your blood! You should enjoy the logging line if you haven't already!

Welcome aboard, Jim! What a great start you have there! I can't wait to see this one unfold ;)

Uteram

Not a problem. I do the same type of modeling. I call it "simulated narrow gauge". See my photos below for a look.