progress on my layout

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by viperman, Aug 27, 2006.

  1. viperman

    viperman Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    0
    That should be all I need. Whenever I can get some 2" 4x8 foam pieces, I can start to lay the track down, to see where I need to put everything, followed by getting risers and inclines, then more roadbed, then laying track. Wow, I have a LONG way to go
  2. ocalicreek

    ocalicreek Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey...what about the rest of us...we'd love to see the plan too!

    Galen
  3. Santa Fe Jack

    Santa Fe Jack Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Remember that you can take thinner pieces and "laminate" them to get thicker ones. In some cases, this produces a stronger base than just a single piece, especially since all I have seen lately in foamboard is "pre-scored", with cuts made 16 inches on center. HAndy for installers, but very bad for strength of the entire board.

    The foam board I put together in my 6-ftx10-ft layout (see URL in sig) is an assembly of three layers of 1-inch thick 4x8 sheets. It is one strong cohesive base.
  4. Doc Holliday

    Doc Holliday Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. viperman

    viperman Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    0
    How much do those 4x8 foam boards cost?
  6. viperman

    viperman Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, tossing a question here. Running 18"r and 22"r curves, with a GP40-2, 40' boxcars here. Would you say this would 70s? Now what if I mention I have some modern cars (Dodge Viper for example), would this ruin the whole era thing, or would I have a small branch/local line which uses older equipment, as the tracks were laid long ago, or perhaps budget reasons?
  7. MilesWestern

    MilesWestern Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    umm...you can use old EQUIPMENT...but paint schemes change completely with in 15 years, and by then, there's just a ghost of that paintjob hidden under the weathering. What engine are you thinking about running in the modern day, with the dodge viper?

    Also make sure that ABSOLUTELY NONE of your freight cars have roofwalks on them.
  8. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    make sure extra cab windows are covered.
  9. viperman

    viperman Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only engine I have right now is a BN GP40-2
  10. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, usualy only U-boats and SW series switchers have the extra windows.
  11. viperman

    viperman Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    0
    what extra windows are you talking about?
  12. LongIslandTom

    LongIslandTom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your GP40-2 doesn't have those extra windows, so don't worry. :D

    Green was referring to engines with extra cab windows, like this:

    Attached Files:

  13. viperman

    viperman Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I didn't think it had any extra windows
  14. viperman

    viperman Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, last night I went to Menards, and bought two1/2" pink foam 4x8s. I had to cut them down to fit in the car, so by the time I got them home, they were 2x4s. I have one 4x8 assembled again, and glue drying under it on the wood. Once these four are done, I can get to work on the other three.
  15. viperman

    viperman Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have all the pieces of foam glued down now. Just waiting for the glue to cure for a couple days, and I'm set to start work!
    [​IMG]
  16. viperman

    viperman Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,942
    Likes Received:
    0
  18. viperman

    viperman Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is a very rough sketch of an idea that popped into my head, while I was messin around downstairs. May not fit so well, if at all, but I do like the rough idea of it
  19. TruckLover

    TruckLover Mack CH613 & 53' Trailer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    YAY, you got some pink foam layed, Way to go Steven. Now you can start the real work:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

    That plan is a very rough stetch, LOL, but I like the rough idea of it too. I use photoshop for my rough sketches.
  20. LongIslandTom

    LongIslandTom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Following Wiperman's rough sketch, I laid it out using Atlas 18"-radius sectional track using XTrkcad below (I think I remember him mentioning that he essentially has two 4x8s side to side):

    I don't think he has room for a 4-feet-long bridge in that diagonal section (the bridge there is only 1 foot long!), but otherwise it's feasible.

    Xtrkcad isn't the easiest to learn how to use, but it's a useful planning tool I think.. It's still a free download, no?

    Attached Files: