progress on my layout

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by viperman, Aug 27, 2006.

  1. viperman

    viperman Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doc, I like that! What size curves do you have? Do you think you could post what elevations the tracks are, what percent the grades are, stuff like that? That is, if you don't my copying
  2. Doc Holliday

    Doc Holliday Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using 18" and 22" radii. I'm running early steam so I can get away with them that small. Inclines vary from 1% to a max of 4%. Here's an early pic showing the ups and down.
    [​IMG]
    I laid it out on graph paper and may still have the sketch with elevations. PM me you address and if I can find it I'll snail mail it to you. It's way too messy to try to scan. I also had a buddy rough it out in XTRAK-CAD if you 'd like that. I'm more into modeling than running trains so I realize that it has some operational limitations.
    Doc
  3. Nazgul

    Nazgul Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey Doc
    do you have anymore recent pics? I saw your homepage and would love to see where your at now....great work!
  4. Doc Holliday

    Doc Holliday Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Steve, unfortunately the only recent work I've done it to clean the track. I don't have much time to work on the BAD Western during spring, summer and fall. Too many honeydo projects around the house. I'm looking forward to the onset of winter and a long rainy season.
    Doc
  5. LoudMusic

    LoudMusic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there anywhere that the upper track connects to the lower track?
  6. viperman

    viperman Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doc, I plan on using 22" and 18" myself, so that's cool. I just want to be able to run an SD40-2 on the 22's and my GP40-2 on the 18's.
    How big is this graph paper with the drawing on it? I will pm you my address for it, if you really want to send it to me. I would ask for the xtrak-cad file, but I don't even have the program, just have the Atlas one.
    I myself just like to watch the train run through the scenery, I'm not big on the switching aspect, so this is a nice plan for me.
  7. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    SD40-2s aren't all that big. they'll fit on the 18" curves.
  8. viperman

    viperman Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah? I thought 6axle locos need the 22" to be able to run, and pull a train without de-railing everything. I mostly have smaller cars, in the 40-50' range. I don't plan on running much bigger stuff than that. I actually like the looks of the smaller cars, more than the modern behemoth 80-90' cars.
  9. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    you won't have a problem. Its really when you get to larger locomotives like SD50 and up, and even then you can get some of them to work on the 18" curves.

    I have a Bachmann SD45 that i run trains with all the time. In addition to that, many of the early 6 axle switchers are more than capable of handling the 18" curves, like SD7s-SD35s, because they not much longer than their GP counter parts.
  10. viperman

    viperman Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh sweet. I do still plan on 18 and 22 though
  11. Doc Holliday

    Doc Holliday Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's a couple more recent pics I took this morning. One shows the connection I added between the two separate tracks.. The last is a trestle kitbash I'm putting in. Sorry for the poor photo quality.
    Doc

    Attached Files:

  12. viperman

    viperman Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    0
    nice. Wonder how I mised that post. PM sent doc
  13. Nazgul

    Nazgul Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Steven
    what's going on my friend? decide on a track plan?
  14. viperman

    viperman Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have not heard back from Doc yet. I would like to use his plan, though I think I would use my 2x4 section for a yard, and incorporate that into the plan somehow.
  15. Doc Holliday

    Doc Holliday Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Steve, I sent you a private message.
    Doc
  16. viperman

    viperman Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    0
    Replied, thank you for getting back to me
  17. Doc Holliday

    Doc Holliday Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Steven, scanned plans sent by private e-mail.
    Doc
  18. viperman

    viperman Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got the pics, haven't printed them yet though. I do plan to soon though, however. I will be posting progress here as soon as I start to make some progress. I already have everything else cleared off the table, just need to get the foam, then roadbed, and start laying track
  19. viperman

    viperman Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was able to print the pics tonight, finally. You didn't lable any of the track pieces (22"r, 18"r, 9", etc). Am I safe using 9" straight? What about the curves? Or even turnouts for that matter?
  20. Doc Holliday

    Doc Holliday Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used mostly Atlas sectional track for the curves. All of them are 18" radius except the curve in the upper right and the outside rail on the lower left, these are both 22". The plan is very rough, although it is to scale (1'=12") if you print it full size. I did have a couple of 6" straght sections, but tried to use 9" as a minimum. I layed the whole thing out full size using copies of full-sized Atlas templates, holding the curves and fitting the straight sections, "laying" as I went. I used flex track for the long straight sections. As for switches, they are Atlas snap switches.

    Good luck.
    Doc