Prodigy Advance Readback Values

Discussion in 'DCC & Electronics' started by colin, Jan 15, 2006.

  1. colin

    colin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Prodigy Advance system and a few locos with MRC, Atlas and Digitrax decoders. Will the Prodigy system only "read back" MRC decoders? When I try to read back an Atlas factory installed decoder it reads as "ERR". When I try to "read back" Digitrax every thing reads back as 00. All the locos work fine. When I try to change a CV value on a digitrax decoder and I look at the manual, everything looks Chineese to what I am used to on the MRC decoders. Can I change CV values on the Atlas and Digitrax Decoders?
    Please help; Colin
  2. rksstl

    rksstl Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Colin
    To answer your first question the PA will read back any decoder. I only have Digitrax decoders and have no problem reading the, make sure that your programg track is clean and the wheel sets are clean I had that as a problem when trying to read/write before. What cv's are you trying to program on the Digitrax? I'll be working on the error problem with the Atlas.
  3. colin

    colin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good Morning Rich;
    I just cleaned program track, wheels are also clean. I want to read the loco address. I know the address is 280. (recall 280 and loco works perfect) Put it on program track and read adr and it reads 00.
    Any advice; Colin
  4. rksstl

    rksstl Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try reading cv29 it shouldbe set at 36 or 38 that would be 4 digit add. @ 14 or 28 speed steps.
  5. colin

    colin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I read cv 29 and it read 00. I programed it to 38 and read it again and it read 00.???