Post War Track Condition

jcpetri

May 2, 2001
Cream Ridge
Hi all, newbie here; I just got my set of lionel trains back from my brother. They are about 50 years old and were sitting in boxes for the past 30 years or so. Question: What's the best cleaning solution to use on the track (somewhat rusted) the loco (also caked with age) and other parts? I would like to buy as little as possible new and would rather restore my lionels from my childhood as close to original as possible. Any tips?

George

Jan 1, 2001
Visit site
Don't stink out the house, don't risk cutting and infecting your fingers.

Go out and BUY NEW TRACK. It's cheap, they come in three foot sections now. If you pop a little more money over Lionel and buy MTH track, it's got a bogus plastic roadbed built into it that looks passable, plus they've attempted to hide the third rail by making it black.

If you're determined to use that track, try using Ronsonol lighter fluid. If it doesn't work to your satisfaction, bite the bullet and hit the hobby shop.

Good Luck!

George.

George

Jan 1, 2001
Visit site
POST SCRIPT....

Ronsonol is great for cleaning parts. If you need parts for the trains, get them from MADISON HARDWARE. If the track is rusted, write it off and pop for new stuff.

George,

jcpetri

May 2, 2001
Cream Ridge
Thanks, George; I was trying to keep the "old" look to the entire set, but if I have no luck with the ronsonal, I guess I'll have to go for the new track.

Thanks again,

Drew1125

Jan 28, 2001
jcpetri,
I'd have to agree with George.
If you're wanting to restore these trains to running condition, it would be in your best interest, & theirs, to use new track.
If you want that original look, Lionel still makes the same type of track they did 50 years ago.
Good luck with the restoration!