Play-Doh Challenge #1

Play-Doh

Allright, im new to scratchbuilding, and perhaps this one is a little more advanced than I should start with...but im in. Im always up for a challenge. I will begin friday...and ill post pics of my progress.

This is a building called "Mt Scott Funeral Home" I work here, and live here (which makes getting scale measurments easy. My mission is not to win this, just to throw myself in headfirst into scratchbuilding, and to make something that is truley to scale.

Heres a drawing of the building (couldnt find a pic, but im getting the digital tommorow)

mts.gif

cnw1961

Play-Doh, that is the right attitude towards this challenge. You will see, scratchbuilding can be much more satisfactory than building kits. Go ahead :thumb: .

Play-Doh

I think I just scared the hell out of my boss...I want to do everything as close to scale as possible...and I just asked to get on the roof so I could measure the peak....He didnt seem to excited about that...I think im just gonna have to eyeball it.

Play-Doh

Well, im off and running on my first ever scratch building...I guess now is as good as a time as ever for an update. So far things are going great!

Here is a pic of the actual vestibule that I am modeling. Im doing the whole building, this is just my starting point.

vestobulereal.jpg

Today I completed the front panel. Doesnt look like much yet, still a little ruff...and I again had to use the camera phone...the camera doesnt do it justice and makes it look ruffer than it actually is...but its a good start. Of course its not painted yet...but its complete with accurate window panes and "Glass" that I cut out of an old CD case.

vestibule1.jpg

Suddenly im addicted to scratchbuilding

TJ

Play-Doh

Makin Progress...I finished the vestibule (well, except the painting and smoothing out the edges...it looks really run down here) ...here is a yet another fuzzy pic

Attachments

• vestibulewroof.jpg
    vestibulewroof.jpg
    18.8 KB · Views: 353