Plan critique requested

astrowolf67

Nov 12, 2005
W. KY
Hi all, I've been lurking for a while, reading, and enjoying everyones discussions. I've been collecting N scale equipment for a few years, and, have even had some track nailed down a few times, just to run trains on. For Christmas, I gave my 5 year old son his first N scale train set, and we've decided it's time for a first REAL layout. My design goals were as follows. Size should not exceed 3ft x 6 ft. The benchwork (which is 90% complete) should be portable, and able to collapse for storage under my son's bed. The frame is made from 1 x 4, 1 x 3, and 2 x 2 pine lumber, and the table surface will be a sheet of foam. We wanted a continous loup for him to run his train on, an inner loop for me to run some trains on, and do a little switching if desired, and, since I picked up a Peco turntable a few years ago, I wanted to incorporate it into the design. The outer loop, will be elevated at the rear of the table, to help break up the one leveled look.
Okay, enough rambling, and on to the plan. I did it in Atlas RTS, and it's close to what I want. The main difference, I will be using flex track instead of sectional. Let me know what you think, and what could be improved. Your input will be greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• s layout 01.jpg
    s layout 01.jpg
    20.5 KB · Views: 73

Papa Bear

Dec 28, 2003
South Alabama
www.route29.com
Welcome to The Gauge, Astrowolf! :wave: I suggest putting in a runaround track on the inside loop - one that you could use without fouling the outer loop. Be sure to post some pictures when you get started.

Russ Bellinis

Feb 13, 2003
Lakewood, Ca.
Visit site