Pinching pennies- AKA: where dies one find figures without spending a mint?

Biggerhammer

Mar 22, 2001
Concord, NH 03301
Visit site
Hello all-

I'm new to the hobby, just starting out really. My layout is a 4x8 with a single oval right now, and a dozen currently-unassembled building kits. I'm hoping to add quite a few figures. Herein lies my dilemma.

I'm not rich (far from it, really). I've looked at the Preiser figures and dreamed happy dreams, then looked at the price tag and had nightmares
wink.gif
Unpainted figures look like the way to go, but the current Walthers catalogue that my hobby shop has had a fairly small selection- four or five package deals. Is there a good source of unpainted or otherwise affordable figures out there, unmentioned by the Walthers catalogue?

Also, this layout is pre-automobile. My wife has requested horses, to set the technological scene (and she just really likes 'em). Where would one find unpainted horses?

Thank you all for your help and advice- and the encouragement.

[This message has been edited by Biggerhammer (edited 04-20-2001).]

George

Jan 1, 2001
Visit site
YO BIGHAMMER!

I'm not exactly a Rockefeller myself, but you can populate your layout as if you were one.

The cheapest way I can think of is by getting one of the bulk packs of Preiser figures. The figures are unpainted and on sprues so that you can. No Rembrandt? Neither am I. Do the best you can, and put them at the rear of the layout, and the profesionally painted figures you paid $$$ up front where they can be seen.....And appreciated.

Where do you want the figures? Seated passengers? Restaurant patrons? Preiser makes an entire package of sitting people. The distorted plastic in most passenger cars will also help to make your paint job look JUST GREAT!