NU-B requesting layout suggestions.....

BTJ

for an unusual table shape.

First of all, Howdy all! (since I didn't see an intro thread) Been lurking, reading & studying for a little while here. Since I have no train background, I'm trying to learn layout functionality, so I'm gonna leave this to you'all with only a few parameters.
thumbsup.gif

HO scale, modern era, my wife requests a helix maybe where the Y is (which is great for me that she wants to participate. loosens up the purse strings
wink.gif
), to gain elevation against the 70" wall, a tressle maybe across a canyon at the XXs leading to the now authorized
biggrin.gif
tunnel thru the back corner of the master bath closet. So this 'left' side of the table being mountainous country.

The 'right' side (which is actually taking up most of this rooms closet) is open for industry?, yard? pretty much anything!

I want a mainline loop so I can sometimes just sit back, relax and watch her run.

So many options! Waddaya think?

Russ Bellinis

Feb 13, 2003
Lakewood, Ca.
Visit site
Are the two interconnected squares the benchwork? the reason I ask is that you have a few spots where tracks near the back of the layout will be out of reach. I don't see any way you could reach anything in the closet the way it is drawn right now. Is the entire room available for a layout? You mentioned modern era, what sort of trains do you want to run? What minimum radius? Would an around the walls shelf type layout work for you?

BTJ

The two interconnecting squares are the table, (already built) so the reach is 4 feet to the walls. Is that too much? I figured I'd need about 20" radius turns, so that don't leave much extra space on a 48" wide table.

Sorry, my computer drawing capability is pretty limited here so it may not be very clear.