Ntrak limitations

BrianK

May 1, 2006
Texas
I am just now really getting in to model trains and my plan was to do modules (2x4ft) one at a time instead of a single large layout. I didn't plan to follow any standards but I'm thinking maybe I should that way I can bring my module(s) to clubs and shows. I'm new to the whole module thing, but someone recommended that I follow the Ntrak standard.

I just started work on my first module which doesn't conform to any standard, but so little has been done that it wouldn't be hard to change. However, for my second module, I wanted to have a fairly good size single (maybe double) track trestle bridge running through the middle of the module. But if I am to conform to the Ntrak standard, I would need two main lines and a branch line towards the front of the module. Unless I have a very large 8'+ module to route the branch line away, I wouldn't be able to have a single/double track bridge running through the middle of the module and still look good.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Pooh Bah
Mar 25, 2002
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Visit site
If you build modules, you have to have standards. They can be your own, but if you plan to mix yours with someone else's, you should have a standard set.
Ntrack has been around for a long time, but there are a couple of others. The 3 line system does give a few problems, especially since there are very few 3-track main lines.
You could make a set of modules with standard ends at the outside and non-standard nds in the middle. That way you can shift the branchline back a bit and put it on a more rustic bridge than the main lines.

pgandw

Jul 9, 2005
There are some modular standards that have more freedom. Free-Mo, an HO standard, is one example. The trick to a different standard is finding others who will also build their modules to the specified standard, so you can combine them at clubs and shows.