Noob to trains and the Gauge

Victorsmalls

Oct 8, 2005
Just wanted to say hello and give a little info on my Project. My name is Dave and I'm just north of Pittsburgh. Just got started into trains after a long facination with the hobby. I have limited experiance and knowledge with trains but I have been reading up.

The plan is a 4' x 4' N scale layout with a mountain theme and some small residential area. I am going to be using a 3/4 MDF base on top of a 2"x4" build up. The topography will be created with 2" Foam stacked in areas along with 2" as a base for a natural look after some shaping.

So far I have been shopping on Ebay and a local shop, but I am in need of information more than anything. Just a couple questions.

What is the differance between Code 55 and Code 80? Size differance?

Any lead on write ups of LED lighting for train use and the wiring associated with it?

Thanks in advance for the help you site has been giving me and the help i'll be gaining in the future.

Dave Albeck

C

Catt

Hi Dave,welcome to the Gauge.Glad you could join us,there are lots of great folks here more than willing to give any help they can.

Track height is measured in thousanths(SP) so code 55 would read .55 tall and code 80 is .80 tall.the difference is .25thou.

Since you are a Noobe I would reccomend that you use code 80 for your first layout.It is quite forgiving of mistakes and the ATLAS brand is available just about everywhere.Once painted and ballasted it looks great.

As for your second question I really don't at this point have a clue.

Pitchwife

Dreamer
Apr 23, 2001
The middle of nowhere Oregon
Visit site
Victorsmalls said:
Any lead on write ups of LED lighting for train use and the wiring associated with it?

Thanks in advance for the help you site has been giving me and the help i'll be gaining in the future.

Dave Albeck
Hi Dave, welcome to the Gauge. :wave: