no yard

Discussion in 'Model Rail Operations' started by Nomad, Jul 27, 2008.

  1. Nomad

    Nomad Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all:wave:
    I am planning a new garage layout, but probably won't start on it until next summer. So, i am going to built a 2'x13' switching layout to keep me busy during the winter, which i have never done before. My layouts have always been full sized.
    So, the first question is, if the layout has no yard or storage tracks, where do you spot the pulls from the industries? Or do you just remove them from the layout and put new cars the next session?

    Loren
  2. Nomad

    Nomad Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Delete this if you want to moderators. I have a plan with a small yard.

    Loren
  3. Triplex

    Triplex Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you don't have a yard, interchange/staging/fiddle track(s) are nearly essential. They offer somewhere to supply and absorb cars. Actually, they're very useful on any layout, and I suggest you incorporate them into your plan. It doesn't take much to include such an off-stage connection.
  4. doctorwayne

    doctorwayne Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Most of my towns don't have an assigned switcher, so the locals switch the industries, as required, when they pass through town. The pick-ups leave town in whichever train is headed the appropriate direction, then either end up at another industry, or, more likely, in a staging yard, headed for far-away destinations.
    I remove those cars from the layout with the 0-5-0 switcher, then replace them with different ones. Eventually, the layout will be operated with car cards and waybills, and should be self-sustaining.

    Wayne
  5. VunderBob

    VunderBob Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    My last functional layout was a timesaver with an extension to one end. I staged on and off via 0-5-0 at the 'interchange', then rolled onto the timesaver portion.
  6. Ralph

    Ralph Remember...it's for fun!

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like the thread is still attracting interest and replies Loren! I'm OK with it remaining if you are. :thumb: Might be interesting to see what people think about operating a switching plan as you originally described.

    Ralph
  7. Nomad

    Nomad Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fine with me Ralph. Something interesting to learn about!

    Loren