No wire to run, no wire to hide.

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by Zman, Jul 30, 2005.

  1. Zman

    Zman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which is NOT what this thread is about. (I just liked the pun.)

    Here is the wiring for my turnout motors. I've run the wires under the layout into a conduit box made of PVC commonly used in building applications. I then made a faceplate for the switches and AC input out of electrical perf board.

    [​IMG]


    Next, connect the common leads.


    [​IMG]


    Now everything gets cut down and soldered.


    [​IMG]


    And voila! A control panel for the turnout motors with only one wire showing.


    [​IMG]


    When I put the fascia around the edge of the layout, it should look very trim.
  2. Pitchwife

    Pitchwife Dreamer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great work Zman. My only recomendation would be color coded wire. Saves major headaches if you have to trace one particular wire. :thumb: :D :D
  3. ezdays

    ezdays Out AZ way

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's a good idea. It works with a limited number of switches, but one can always use multiple boxes if need be. One advantage here is that the switches can be nearer to the turnouts rather than running from one location.
  4. Matthyro

    Matthyro Will always be re-membered

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I see all that wiring I know why all my turnouts have manual control. Good work Zman
  5. CN1

    CN1 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    WOW!!! :eek:

    Thanks for the "how-to" :thumb:

    Well done