newby N-scale track on 841mm x 1189 (33"x47")

Discussion in 'Track Planning' started by takev, Aug 7, 2003.

  1. takev

    takev Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there,

    I'm a newby, I have done some finescale modelling the last years and wanted to do real diaramas.

    When I was very young I had a fleischmann starters kit, which always failed, I think my mother took it back to the store three times. I hope I have better luck this time, altough I don't buy the starters kit this time.

    Now, my house is really small, as I live in Amsterdam, so I have to build something that doesn't use up much space. So I deviced a module setup of ISO-A1 paper size, which
    you can stack for storage.

    I've made a design
    using two of these modules and which can
    be extended with further modules on the right
    joining the two main line tracks. The line in the
    middle is where the two modules meet. I've been carfull not to put any turnouts on this line.

    The maximum grade is 3.1% which is made before the "town" station. The sharp bent before the "iron ore mine" station is on a grade of 2.5% and has a radius of 19cm (7.4"). These two stations will be met only with short cars.

    The "steel mill" station will be used by train with long 60' cars. The smallest radius it will meet is 28cm (11").

    I guess I will start by making the loop.
    Then add the stations in the middle, and finaly the big station on the bottom, which will need to be fed by the other modules on the right.

    As you see, I am going to make a large flowing industry, iron ore -> steel -> factory -> distribution center -> cities, etc. Altough that will take a long time (luckely), room and money.

    So what do you thing? Did I get the grades and radius right? Is it too cluttered? Any sugestions?

    Attached Files:

    • 2.gif
      2.gif
      File size:
      44.1 KB
      Views:
      380
    • 2.gif
      2.gif
      File size:
      44.1 KB
      Views:
      381
  2. jon-monon

    jon-monon Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    4,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    Welcome to the-gauge! One of the neat things about the-gauge is we make friends all over the world!

    I like the plan. You are packing a lot of action into a small space. It offers continouse running (a loop) and point to point operations are possible. Weather it is too cluttered or two tracky, IMHO depends on your usage and personnal preferance. Are you more into modeling, scenerey and appearnce, or more into operations? I like the modeling aspect, so it might be a little tracky for my tastes. Then again, I am a little spoiled with a large area to work with, so if I were more restricted on layout size, I might rethink it. I say go with what you feel is best. When you start laying it out, buildings and track tend to grow and the real estate shrinks, so you do want to leave yourself some extra room.

    You could run a short length of Z scale track into the mine and make some push carts or a dummy mine loco and a couple of small ore cars :D :D :D

    Love to see it as it progresses!
  3. jkristia

    jkristia Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Welcome to The Gauge.

    It's an interesting plan with a lot of track packed into a small space. I do see one problem in the plan, and that is in the lower right corner. You won't be able to get any cars out of the 2 lower tracks, even if the crossover is a double switch, the right side track of the switch will only hold the locomotive without cars. Maybe you could somehow change the red track coming out of the tunnel to a turnout and then connect the track to there.

    Enjoy.
  4. Xaniel

    Xaniel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, and welcome to the gauge!!! You'll find a lot of good advices and friends here.

    About your track plan, really cool. I havce the same problem. I live in Portugal and space is a problem, So I have a 2' by 4' layout. I think you could do something about that plan in the bottom, unless you are thinkng about future expansion. If not, you'll have difficulties putting some cars in those tracks.

    That's my opinion.
  5. takev

    takev Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone,

    Thanks for the advice.

    The Z-gauge for the mine is inspired, I was
    just thinking about a lift shaft in the ground.

    And indeed, the bottom two tracks are impossible to get to, so they are layed last, when I start with a new module (i.e. future expansion) I am thinking of extending the "town" station then too.

    I just orderd the wood for the frame I guess I will post pictures of the progress I'll make in this thread, or should I post that in an new thread in the N/Z forum.
  6. takev

    takev Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I changed the design a bit, making it
    a bit more interesting.

    I made a bit of extra room for the scenery.
    I removed a track from the city station
    and made the bottom two tracks accessable

    The high track isn't accessable until I get
    new modules.

    Most of the track is now on the same level, except for the track running to the iron ore mine and the town. You also see I made the outline of the hill in two levels, possibly these levels are carved out by the mining operation, this will give it more history.

    jon-monon, I added a small Nn3 track
    next to the iron ore mine station.

    Attached Files:

    • 2.gif
      2.gif
      File size:
      41.2 KB
      Views:
      322
    • 2.gif
      2.gif
      File size:
      41.2 KB
      Views:
      321
  7. screwysquirrel

    screwysquirrel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks nice

    A couple possible problems in the new plan

    If you're using sectional track, that long S-curve could cause derailments, You need to include a straight as long as your longest car before reversing direction (generally a 4 or 5" straight is adequate). Even with Flex Track the abrupt change can be tricky.

    I would also just remove the turnout on the lowermost right. In its current position, you can't use it for ANYTHING anyway, except maybe a miniscule Loco (like a hand truck) so you might as well save the money and just add it when you expand the railroad.


    Also, SERIOUSLY consider adding Re-Railers. They are almost a necessity in N scale. I'd put them in the 'city' yard tracks, and possibly one in the town and another on the 'back stretch' of the main oval
  8. takev

    takev Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello screwysquirrel,

    Ah, the S-curve, yes, I will and a piece
    of straight say 10cm or so in there, ofcource, xtrkcat (the program I use) doesn't allow me more then 50 tracks, as I haven't bought it yet.

    I will only buy the track as I go, I'll start with the oval.

    re-railers, haven't heard of it yet, I guess if a train is partly derailed, it will put it back on the track?
  9. screwysquirrel

    screwysquirrel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    "What's a Rerailer"?

    A rerailer is a unit of track designed to help place cars and locos on the track successfully. You roll a car back and forth across it and the grooves of the rerailer force the car on the track


    Here's a picture of the Atlas N-scale Rerailer:

    [​IMG]
  10. takev

    takev Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, I see

    it looks like a crossing, I need crossings anyway so the passengers can cross the station, etc.

    I only need to point them in concrete grey.
  11. screwysquirrel

    screwysquirrel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    the 'look like a crossing' is intentional :)
  12. takev

    takev Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. screwysquirrel

    screwysquirrel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes. They are necessary, so they made them look like road crossings
  14. takev

    takev Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I went back to the drawing board,
    I added a streight piece in the large S-bend, although now the grade is 4%, as the total length is shorter.

    I changed the station so all the tracks are accessable, even without extra modules.

    Attached Files:

    • 2.gif
      2.gif
      File size:
      41.9 KB
      Views:
      287
    • 2.gif
      2.gif
      File size:
      41.9 KB
      Views:
      287
  15. jkristia

    jkristia Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like it. The only thing I think I would change is the double slip switch. I would put a turnout there instead and then extend the bottom track to the right for a small engine facility. Of course I know that that would mean replacing it back to the switch once you are ready for the extension. Oh well, just my thoughts.
  16. takev

    takev Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi again,

    I slightly changed the layout again.

    I went a shop today and they could get peco code 55 track, which I liked, but the turnouts are much larger then on other tracks.

    So the new layout doesn't look anything like before.

    Anyway the new layout has got a interesting interlocking loop and three station.

    one of which one has 4 tracks (only three accessable by passengers), it is a city station and has output to the right of to an other module. On the south east of the station there can be made some city scenery. The top track of the station is used by the small passager train going up the mountain.

    North east has a iron ore mine station with a single track. This station is used by both the mine as for passengers (mine town). It is
    based on the top of a mountain. To the left of it is the mine and below that are some small houses.

    The station in the center is for the steel mill, it accepts passengers, iron ore and steel trains.
    The iron ore has to reverse to get into this station. The steel has to be reversed on the spare track in the city station before handing of to an other module.

    The crack in the mountain where a rail runs through is made by a now small river.

    Biggest grade is 2.4% on any track. The steel has to go to a bend with a radius of 8.2".

    Attached Files:

    • 2.gif
      2.gif
      File size:
      44 KB
      Views:
      84
    • 2.gif
      2.gif
      File size:
      44 KB
      Views:
      82
  17. trainmasta13601

    trainmasta13601 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    IDK,i dotn liek that one as much it is cool but i stil liek your first 1 lol
  18. jkristia

    jkristia Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm sorry, but I don't really like that one either. I lake the last one on page 1 best. That one gives you continues running while having a train at the station, and then you send that train off on a continues run while the first trains stops at the station.
  19. takev

    takev Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I'll try the older design, but with the new turnouts, but I think that might be problematic.
    The turnouts are about 1.5 times the old size.
  20. screwysquirrel

    screwysquirrel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    It all depends

    What do you want to do with it?