Newbie need 4x10 track plan

DJboutit

Jun 28, 2003
Houston Tx
Visit site
I am a newbie to the board but not to model trains and I am looking for a good 4x10 ho track plan of Houston or the Tx area from the 30s to 90s time period. So any plans or ideas would help out.

akrrnut

Jan 24, 2003
Eastern Oregon
www.hdni.cc
DJboutit,

You might do just as well to find a 4x8 trackplan you like, then stretch it by 2 feet. I did just that for a guy for whom I built a railroad about 11 years ago. It was from the Kalmbach book 101 Track Plans. I don't remember which one, though.

Try some of the track planning books available at your LHS, or some of the websites available. There have been a lot of 4x8 tracks plans printed over the past 40 years, and some of them are pretty good.

As far as modeling the Houston area, you'd know far better than I what types of building and industry to include, and what the terrain looks like. However, if you're modeling rolling hills, I wouldn't use a plan that incorporates high mountains - it just won't look right. Instead, try a plan that's mostly flat, and add hills to break up the terrain.

Model Railroader ran a series on building the Turtle Creek Railroad starting in the January 2003 issue. I think they started with a 4x8 plan and stretched it a little. If you read that ariticle, you might pick up a few ideas.

Good Luck!

mykroft

Nov 15, 2002
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Visit site
A nice little trackplan is the Midland, IL Plan in Tony Koester's Realistic Model Railroad Operations. As it builds out to closer to 4'x8.5', you'd only need to add a few 9" straights to get your 4'x10'. A plus is that it's designed to allow operations. With DCC and the optional tracks, it will keep 2-3 operators entertained for a couple of hours.

To localize it for Texas, you'd want to ditch the Grain Elevator in favour of maybe a stockyard, and the Fertilizer Warehouse for a feed warehouse or Oil Distribution centre, or modify to suit your taste/fleet.