newbie HO shelf layout ??

Otony

Good morning all,

I am a complete and utter amateur in model railroading, especially if you consider that my last set was around 1958 or '59. Now, being close to retirement, my wife and I have decided to build a free standing office in our backyard to house my collection of books and memorabilia. This will be 12' by 16', and must serve triple duty as an office, reading room, and private TV room for the wife and I (our family was started late:) ). This room will have a door and window at one 12' end, with a couple of skylights for additional natural light. It will also house a small layout for my amusment, and that of the kids (under supervision).

My thought is to build a shelf, perhaps 8" to 12" wide, running around the entire room, and therein lies the problem. Knowing very little about trains at this point, I would like the track/shelf to run over the door (12' side, remember), and yet come down low enough along the 16' walls to allow for easy viewing. Obviously, running over the door is for nothing other than the sake of convinience, but I am worried about the grade that will be created trying to come back down to a reasonable viewing level.

I would also like a bridge at some point, and wondered if a gap in the shelving could be successfully spanned? Again, I know very little about trains at this point, but have at least determined that a short line would be in my best interest. I would also like to incorporate a siding, if that is the correct terminology, to allow for a second train to be utilized.

Most of you are likely rolling in the aisles at this point, as I am probably asking for the moon. For that, I am sorry. I just don't know enough yet to ask for things in a proper manner, but I know what I would like it to do! For the record, I am interested in steam engines, and the background along the walls will be a pine forest. I doubt that helps a whole lot, but it seemed like a start.

Thank you all, for any help,

Otony