Newbie help please

Big Mark

n2x4a5.gif

Total newbie from the N-gauge section HELP!!
Really like this layout but it is spec'd in atlas and I dont know if I can get this in England, any ideas?
Would also love to link the lower spur on the right onto the main line, could that be done?
Thanks in advance
Mark and Fiona

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Big Mark said:
Our ideas for a layout are a rural layout with 3 stations, a couple of small industry stops (like wood mill and coal depot) and a small shunting yard but we are looking to get it in 4ft by 3ft...

Hi Mark and Fiona,

Are these the only requirements? I recall seeing a looped layout in your other thread. What has happened to that idea?

The plan you show above uses Atlas sectional track, and I think you should be able to find it, even if you have to go mail order. There are some pretty good shops/well known shops that should be able to help you.

Back to the current plan though - if you want to connect the inner spurs to the track at the lower right - try "reversing" them. You will end up with something like what I have sketched below.

You might want to add a runaround at at least one end of the point-to-point. That will allow you to get you loco back to the front of the train, rather than having to reverse all the way back.

If this is just the beginning of your model railroad adventures, what else do you have in mind? Do you envision a basement (or other space) empire? Just a coffee table's worth? Operating sessions with (future) club members/friends? Replicating some memorable chunk of railroad/railroad history?

The reason I ask this last set of questions is in case you want to design this layout to be part of something bigger...

Hope that helps.

Andrew

Attachments

• big mark layout.jpg
    big mark layout.jpg
    15.2 KB · Views: 72

Big Mark

Andrew THANKS!

that version looks very good indeed