Newbie,, Help needed

tonphil1960

Hi all, Newbie here, (see General forum,,,,)

I ran a simple layout when I was a kid. I have not touched a train in about 30 years. I want to go with N as I have no room for something bigger and with N you get more bang for the buck I think. When I had my layout it was all brass track sections, simple wiring and switches,,cars from the set, a few extras that we bought.in other words a whole different world. From what I have seen High Tech has gotten into model railroading too. I am a modeler and X mechanic so building is not a problem. I just don't know where to start.. I was thinking about just building and collecting rolling stock and Loco's, Or do I want to build and run a specific road, don't know which yet though. I have no idea how to go about gathering my materials and researching the road to even get a start going. Help.

Thanks Tony ^_^

eightyeightfan1

Now I'm AMP'd
Since your a modeller(from General Talk) I'm guessing, painting and detailing isn't a problem.If thats the case, maybe freelancing might be what you're looking for. Freelancing allows you to come up with your own paint schemes for your loco's, what kind of equipment you want to run. If you have a favorite road, even freelancing a "sub-division" might be a good choice. This lets you run your favorite railroad's paint schemes, but make up towns and industry along the line. You could even have it come to your hometown, even if trains never even ran there.
These are just a couple of suggestions.

Bikerdad