newbe

fitter 539

I am new to this fourm and I want to start to put together a layout plan . I plan on building a 4x8 layout,and it being ho gauge.I was woundering what the best plan to use seeing it is my first layout. Thanks, Fitter539

interurban

Welcome fitter 539

Hello 539,

Tell the lads what you would be inclined to operate, Frieght, Passenger operation oorrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr Traction:D :D :D :D :D
and I bet in a jiff the thread will be full of great IDEAS,
Thats when they sober up after tonight:D :D ;) :rolleyes:

fitter 539

I plan on modeling freight and would like to include a powerplant with a coal yard and a oil refinery and a town. thanksfitter539:)

fitter 539

I plan on having acess on three sides the two 4ft.sides and one 8ft. side I would like to also run two trains at the same time.thanks fitter539:)

cidchase

Hi fitter,
At your local hobby shop (LHS) you'll find a couple of inexpensive Atlas layout handbooks which might give you some ideas.

You've got to have access to that back side somehow, either by pulling it out away from the wall (even temporarily) or by cutting an access hole in the center of the table.

You can fit a double mainline, I'm not sure about the available radii using fixed track, but it's in the book.

Go for it!! :D :D

Ralph

Remember...it's for fun!
Fitter,

Welcome aboard to a fellow Minnesotan! I was thinking it would be ideal if you could pull that 4X8 away from the wall so you could walk around it and have total access. It would also help you create seperate scenes on each side of the layout (you could put a back drop in the middle or place a view blocking hill in the center). If you have to keep one side against the wall then an access hole is a must. Double track curves on a 4X8 are possible but you'll need to settle for shorter freight cars and four axle locomotives to help avoid derailments on the tight inner curve.