New to Train Modelling + Need Advice

frenchtoast

May 17, 2005
Hi everyone. Im new to train modelling (im only 22) and i need some advice on a few things.

After researching ive decided the most balanced scale for size and affordability for myself is N-scale. I have done a bit of looking around but havent decided exactly what i want to model. Im from Australia, so either an australian setting, steam from any continent or japanese bullet trains. This isnt such a big deal. I'll have to decide on whats available to me. My main questions are as follows.

• What brands should i be looking at for locos, rolling stock and track? From what ive seen in forums and websites Atlas and Kato seem to be the best to go for if you want quality. Should i stick to this or does anyone recommend
  • Would there be any compatibility issues if i were to mix different brands of model together?
  • For those people in Australia (specifically Melbourne), where are the better hobby shops to buy N-scale from? And where do people buy from off the internet that they trust.

If theres anything else that anybody could help with it would be much appreciated. I have a few projects in mind and i cant wait to get started.

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site
Hi frenchtoast (or is it bonjour?)...

Welcome to The Gauge. There are a number of Australian members here who can probably help you with local shops and so on.

I am in HO scale, but from what I have read, Atlas and Kato have fine Nscale offerings. Most model railroads are a mix of brands, so I would not worry about that. You will have to be sure that, for example, your couplers are compatible on rolling stock, or that the track of different brands matches up, but generally there should not be a problem.

Anything else - look through The Gauge! There is a lot of great information here, and the search function can be your best friend. ;)

Andrew

tillsbury

Jul 18, 2004
NZ
Morning Mr Toast,